The Acta Orthopaedica Belgica was born in 1945.

Since 1984 "peer review" has been used.

Since 1992 the non-profit organization Acta Orthopaedica Belgica has directed the journal. The board is composed of delegates from French- and Dutch-speaking orthopaedic associations. The members of the Editorial Board are appointed for 4 years.

The successive editors were: P. Kempeneers; A. Walch (1953); G. Calberg (1962); P. Coutelier and H. Kinzinger (1984); R. Lemaire (1993); L. De Smet and O. Barbier (2013).